Susan Simmons

My name is Susan Simmons and I am a professor in the math and stats department at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. UNCW is a great place to be with caring professors, staff and students. It is a place in which one can find who they really are. A little bit about myself...I have been married for almost 19 years and have two wonderful children (14 and 16). I have been truly blessed with great colleagues, friends and employment. I grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania called Millersburg. It is located along the Susquehanna River in the Susquehanna Valley in the Appalachian Mountains. While growing up there, I did not notice the true beauty surrounding me. Isn't that true throughout most of our lives? We get all caught up in all the hustle and bustle and do not truly see what is right there. When I go back to visit now, I really take the time to look around and see the beauty. The best advice that I can pass along to fellow colleagues, friends, students and acquaintances is to take the time to enjoy the beauty that surrounds you. Look at what God has given to you and be thankful for what you have (and do not wish for what others have). My journey with God has been an interesting one. God has always been there with me throughout my entire life (I grew up in a Christian household and have always had my faith). However, there were times when I was closer to Him and times when I was distant. Throughout it all, He has been steadfast with me. I am thankful to the Cru organization on campus. They have helped me in more ways than they will ever know. They have helped me to reconnect with my faith and God and are very supportive. I would encourage all to surround themselves and get involved with organizations such as this one.

My Life

Favorite Quote

Do onto others as you would have them do unto you.

Friends describe me

as nice, talkative.

My hobbies

Spending time with my family.

Fantasy dinner guests

Jesus (of course).

Best advice I ever received

Believe in yourself.

My undergrad alma mater


My worst subject in school


In college I drove

Nothing (not enough money).

If I weren't a professor, I would

be a Data Analyst.

Favorite books

I'm not really sure.

Favorite movies

Sorry, I can't pick just a few (I love watching movies).

Favorite city

Too many beautiful cities to choose.

Favorite coffee

Not a big coffee drinker...but I love chai tea.

Nobody knows I

used to be a cheerleader.

My latest accomplishment

Working with students.

Current Research

Bayesian Hierarchical models.