Vitaliy Goncharenko

I was born in Kiev, Ukraine and moved to San Francisco, CA at the age of 5. I have lived in 4 different states and currently live in my 19th residence. Yes, I have moved (on average) approximately every 2 years of my life! I realized that I liked math when I was 7 and knew that I wanted to do math for a living when I grew up. At one point, I wanted to become a video game designer, but eventually gave up on that and decided to teach. I have never regretted my decision. As of right now, I have taught for over 10 years. Currently working at Kennesaw State University. I came to a personal faith in Jesus Christ at 14 and went to Bible school when I was 23. Bible school strengthened my faith in God's word and helped me overcome difficult times. It is my previous training and experience from years of being a Christian that gives me the confidence to push forward during uncertain times. I currently do weekly bible studies over the phone and go to a church in Smyrna, GA.

My Life

Friends describe me

Reserved, nerdy

My hobbies

math, classical music, exercise, staying at home

My undergrad alma mater

Fresno State

My worst subject in school


In college I drove

Toyota Corolla

If I weren't a professor, I would

Do bible studies on YouTube

Favorite books

The Bible, Animal Farm, certain Bible commentaries, I don't really read much

Favorite city


My latest accomplishment

Went to Ecuador for 1 week with a group of Christian professors.

Current Research

Bible mixed with Math and Statistics.